Back to Bharat

May 18, 2009

News summary – May 18, 2009

Filed under: India, news, sensex scircuit breaker — neosurya @ 23:34

Enter: Old Faithfuls, Young Turks
TOI Bangalore Edition, Page 1

A stable Govt. for the next few years. On 17th May, there was also news that Advani will be stepping down. Regional parties, who till recently were considered to be indispensable [1, 2] are now being pooh-poohed. Ah, for the world of unexpected events. The market is sure to respond +vely. And it sure did; the sensex rose by more than 2000 points in a little over a few minutes to 14,272.63 [1, 2].The circuit-breaker system designed to stop the sensex from growing arbitrarily kicked in twice today, and trading was finally suspended at about 12:00 noon. More about the circuit breaker system and how it is intended to help investors can be seen here:[1, 2]. No, I do not own any stock. Life sucks, right???

Tamil Tigers finally concede defeat
TOI Bangalore Edition, Page 1

The Sri Lankan forces have found Prabhakaran’s body [1]. Several pictures of his family are presented here. More images of the destruction with earlier reports of the death of his son, Charles Anthony.

Love for Vivekananda, clean politics
TOI Bangalore edition, Page 5

Article about Trilochan Sastry , the founder of Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR). He is a bachelor with multiple advanced degrees working towards better electoral reforms.

150 MPs with crime cases in new LS
TOI Bangalore edition, Page 8

The title says it all, need I say any more? Quote from the article:

An analysis of the affidavits filed by contestants reveals there has been a 22% increase in MPs with criminal cases compared with those elected in 2004. About 150 newly-elected MPs have criminal cases pending against them. These include 73 who have serious charges under various counts of the IPC pending against them.

300 crorepati MPs in new Lok Sabha
TOI Bangalore Edition, Page 9

Another set of numbers about our elected reps. Apparently:

The maximum number of crorepatis were found to be from Congress (137), followed by BJP (58), SP (14) and BSP (13).


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: